LibGuides: Caldecott Award Winning Illustrated Children's Books: Researching Illustrators

Finding books
Finding articles

The library is constantly adding new books!

There are several ways to find information on illustrators in books in the library's online catalog and the OhioLINK catalog:

Search the person’s name (last name first, for example: Wiesner, David) as a SUBJECT or AUTHOR in the online catalog to find books about or by the illustrator.

Do a WORD search of the person’s name (first name, then last name; for example David Wiesner) in the online catalog to find books that include the illustrator.

To do a general search about illustrators not about a specific person, you should search the following phrases as a SUBJECT:

ILLUSTRATORS -- BIOGRAPHY

ILLUSTRATORS -- INTERVIEWS

The CIA Library subscribes to many databases that can help you locate articles on any topic. For this research, the best places to start are BIOGRAPHY REFERENCE BANK, ACADEMIC SEARCH COMPLETE, and ART SOURCE.

These are Ebscohost databases and operate the same way. With all Ebscohost databases, you have several ways you can limit your search -- by type of material, to full text only, and by time period of the publication.

If you are off campus, you will need to log-in through a proxy server using the same username and password you use to log-on to a computer on campus.

Biography Reference Bank This link opens in a new window
Biographical full-text articles, page images and abstracts from today’s leading magazines and journals.
*Use the advanced search screen.
*Search the illustrator's name to find biographies, interviews, and articles.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A scholarly, multi-disciplinary, full-text database. A great place to start for non-art related topics.
*Use the advanced search screen.
*Type the illustrator's name into the first dialogued box.
* If you want to eliminate reviews of the illustrator's books, you can change the connecting pick-list to "not," and type "review" in the second dialog box.
Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new window
Covers fine, decorative and commercial art, and areas of architecture and architectural design.
*Use the advanced search screen.
*Type the illustrator's name into the first dialogued box.
*If you want to eliminate reviews of the illustrator's books, you can change the connecting pick-list to "not," and type "review" in the second dialog box.