LibGuides: Artists' Books: Using the Artists' Books Collection

Policies

The Library’s artists’ books collection requires special care and is shelved in a secure area. Selections from the collection are often displayed in the library. You may request individual artists’ books to look at in the library; ask the staff for help.

Please email library@cia.edu to request artists' books ahead of time. Let us know what you would like to look at and when you will be coming to the library.

Once you get to the library

You will need to present your CIA ID to request a book.
You must look at the book at the table directly across from the desk.
Handle the books with care -- they are works of art.
Please have clean hands.
If taking notes, you must use a pencil, not a pen.
Photocopying is not permitted, but you make take a photo for personal study.
Absolutely no food or drinks are allowed near artists' books.

Searching the artists' books collection

It takes several steps to see a list of all artists’ books in the library’s collection, but is worth the effort if a complete list is what you are seeking. Using the library's online catalog:

Select Genre Subject from the pull down list to the left of the search box
Type “artists books” in the dialog box and click submit
Within the results list of Genre Subjects, click on “artists’ books”

To find artists’ books by a specific artist using the library's online catalog:

Select the online catalog’s “advanced search” option
Type “artists books” in the first dialog box and change that box search to SUBJECT
Type the artist’s last name in the second dialog box and change the box search to AUTHOR
Click submit

To find artists’ books on a specific subject using the library's online catalog:

Select the online catalog’s “advanced search” option
Type “artists books” in the first dialog box and change that box search to SUBJECT
Type the topic in the second dialog box and change the box search to SUBJECT
Click submit

If you do not get any results or too few results, start a new search:

Select the online catalog’s “advanced search” option
Type “artists books” in the first dialog box and change that box search to SUBJECT
Type the topic in the second dialog box and leave the box search to ANY FIELD
Click submit

You can also use the “advanced search” of the online catalog to find artists’ books with a certain characteristic (such as a binding style like scroll, Coptic binding, or gate fold), using specific artistic process (collage, Xerox, rubber stamp, etc.), or made with different types of materials (for example, handmade paper or acrylic). This same strategy will work to find artists’ books published by a specific press (Perishable Press, Something Else Press, etc.).

Type “artists books” in the first dialog box and change that box search to SUBJECT
Type descriptive term of interest (binding style, materials, press, and so on) in the second dialog box and leave the box search to ANY FIELD
Click submit

Use Artstor to find artists’ book images. You can search the entire collection or limit your search to “CIA Artists’ Books Collection” (which is a small selection for the library’s large collection), or view image collections from other institutions in Artstor, such as collections of Bucknell University or the Joseph C. Sloane Art Library (University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill).

You must be logged into Artstor to download images. If you have not yet set up an account, the library staff can help you. Please be sure to use your CIA email address!

Artstor This link opens in a new window
Artstor content has migrated to JSTOR and the Artstor website will be retired on August 1, 2024. Image database featuring a range of images from some of the world's leading museums, photo archives, scholars, and artists, available for educational and scholarly use.

For see more images of artists’ books, please see this guide’s page on web resources.

Still not finding what you want?

The library staff is very familiar with this collection and is glad to help you use this collection -- Just ask!