Digital Resource Access

Ask a Question        Email Us        Call us: 216-421-7440        Text us: 216-208-4157

This box will appear when you use CIA Library resources off campus. This is the proxy server log-in screen. Sign in using your myCIA/OneLogIn username and password to access resources.

To access A&AePortal eBooks, click the link to be brought directly to full text. Full text is separated in chapters/sections listed on the page. Click "Read" to view the full text for that chapter/section. Images are provided throughout the text as well as available to view separately in a slideshow.

Visit the A&AePortal Online Reader Help page for more info on how to navigate the full text and utilize various website features.

To access Comics Plus eBooks, you must create a free Comics Plus account online. Visit the Library Pass Login page to log in or create an account. You should see our school as "Cleveland Institute of Art OH" at the top. You must use your CIA email address in order to create an account. Once you've created an account, you can access direct links to eBook titles as well as browse other Comics Plus offerings.

Extra Tip: If the title doesn't immediately open after clicking "Read Now", visit "MY SHELF" in Comics Plus and click the same "Read Now" icon. You should now be able to access the full text.

To access books via Cambridge Books Online, click the link to be brought directly to full text. Full text is separated in sections/chapters on the page. To view text for a specific chapter/section, choose either to download PDF or send to Kindle, Google Drive, or Dropbox.

Visit the Cambridge Books Online FAQs page to find out more about how to download and access the full text.

How to download EBSCOhost ebooks to borrow and read offline:

You can also access EBSCOhost ebooks through the EBSCO Mobile App. Learn more about this app with links to download:

Note: You must use Adobe Digital Editions or equivalent software or apps to open EBSCO downloads.

Please see our Films on Demand guide for information on how to make an account and access content off-campus

NOTE: If accessing Films on Demand videos via eReserves, all links to Films on Demand links on this guide will automatically take you to the streaming video, no Films on Demand login required. If you're off campus, you will need to log into the proxy server with your myCIA log-in information.

Click the link to view the the magazine title in Flipster. Click the title or "Read This Issue" to view the latest issue.

To read previous issues:

1. Click "Read This Issue".
2. Then, while viewing the latest issue, click the standing books icon in the top-right (it will say "All Issues" if you hover the mouse over it).
3. From there a drop-down menu of previous issues will appear.
4. Click on the issue you want to read to get full text access.

A direct link to the title on Kanopy should be provided to you. Click the link to go directly to the streaming film. Proxy server log-in may be required if accessing off campus.

You can also view all titles currently available to CIA via Kanopy by visiting:

To access MIT Press Direct eBooks, click the link to be brought directly to full text. Full text is separated in chapters/sections listed on the page and is viewable via PDF. Click the "PDF" icon to read and download.

Sign up for library cards at the following Ohio public libraries. If in need of an Ohio address, use your CIA address as proof of residency.

• Cleveland Public Library: Library Cards (You may already be able to check out books through the Cleveland Public Library if you have a library card at another CLEVNET member library.)
• Cuyahoga County Public Library: Get a Library Card
• The State Library of Ohio / The Ohio Digital Library: Get a Library Card

More information about local public libraries can also be found on our Public Libraries LibGuide.

As an OhioLINK member institution, CIA Library is able to provide access to a variety of electronic resources via various content providers. Usually, you should only need to click the link to access the ebook. If off-campus, you may need to log into the library's proxy server.

If a link directs you to the OhioLINK Authentication Form:

1. Select "Cleveland Institute of Art" in the institution drop-down menu and "Main Campus" in the location menu.
2. Then, on the next page, enter your name as specified on page.
3. You'll also be asked for your Library Account Number. If you don't have your account number, contact us. The contact info on the authentication page is only for CWRU patrons.

Open access resources are available to anyone who can access these resources online.

For open access eBooks via the publisher's website, click the book link for the item to see the publisher's page for the e-book with information on how to access it.

To access books via O’Reilly for Higher Education (also seen in catalog as Safari Books Online), you must create an account with O'Reilly using your CIA email address. To create an account: 

1. Click the link for the ebook you want to view, either within the catalog or a LibGuide.
2. A pop-up box will appear saying, "Welcome! Get instant access through your library" along with a drop-down menu.
3. Select "Not listed? Click here" from the drop-down menu.
4. You'll be prompted to input your CIA email address. You can then create an O'Reilly account.
5. After creating the account, go back to the ebook link and click. This time, if you are not already logged into O'Reilly, you can log in by clicking "Already a user? Click here". You'll then be taken to the log-in page.
6. After logging in, you should be on the ebook's access page.
7. Click "Start" below the book image to open the ebook. 

You can also download the O'Reilly app to download and read offline. 

To access ebooks via Oxford Scholarship Online, click the book link to be brought directly to the full text. Content will be listed at the bottom and you must click through each chapter/section to read the full text. An abstract of the section is provided at the top of each chapter/section.

You can also Take A Tour, provided by Oxford Scholarship Online, to learn how to navigate and access the site.

To access Routledge Handbooks, click the link to be brought to an OhioLINK authentication form. 

1.  Select "Cleveland Institute of Art" in the institution drop-down menu and "Main Campus" in the location menu.
2. Then, on the next page, enter your name as specified on page.
3. You'll also be asked for your Library Account Number. If you don't have your account number, contact us. The contact info on the page is only for CWRU patrons.

Once submitted, you'll arrive at the Taylor Francis website, where the Routledge Handbooks eBook collection lives. Options for both online viewing and downloading are available.

All reading links will open PDF copies of the reading. If this doesn't work, please contact the library.

To access SpringerLink eBooks, click the link to go directly to the full text. Options to read and download the title are available under the ebook cover image on the full text page.

A direct link to the title on Swank should be provided to you. Click the link to go directly to the streaming film. Proxy server log-in may be required if accessing off campus.

You can also view all titles currently available to CIA via Swank by visiting:

Click the link to access Very Short Introductions full-text ebooks. Scroll down to see chapters/sections. Click view chapter to visit the chapter's full text page. Click the drop-down arrow to view sections within the chapter. Click on a section name to redirect to the full text of the section within the chapter.