LibGuides: Copyright: Digging deeper into copyright

Copyright Law for Librarians and Educators by Kenneth D. Crews
Call Number: KF 2994 .C74 2012 Also available at KSL oversize and CWRU law library office
Author Kenneth Crews is a copyright scholar and librarian who understands and advocates both for creators and those who need to use the work of others. This book is a great starting place for anyone interested in understanding copyright and its implications for educators. It provides clear explanations of the law and lays out creative strategies and practical solutions for working within that law.

To find other books on this topic, search these subject terms and phrases in the CIA library’s online catalog or OhioLINK’s online catalog. Copyright law and established "best practices" (usually favorably considered by the courts) are constantly evolving, so look at the book's publication date when selecting further readings.

CULTURAL PROPERTY PROTECTION

FAIR USE (COPYRIGHT)

INTELLECTUAL PROPERTY

Legal Guide for the Visual Artist by Tad Crawford
Call Number: KF 390 .A7 C73 2010
ISBN: 9781581157420
This book is a great place to begin to understand the full range of legal issues that an artist will face in their career. The 5 chapters on copyright provide an excellent introduction to all of the aspects of copyright that artists may encounter.

ARTISANS - LEGAL STATUS, LAWS, ETC.

ARTISTS CONTRACTS

ARTISTS - LEGAL STATUS, LAWS, ETC.

LAW AND ART

PHOTOGRAPHY - LAW AND LEGISLATION

COPYRIGHT RESOURCES FOR EDUCATORS

This 12 page brochure, produced by the US Copyright Office, provides a general overview of copyright law, its protections, and the process for filing and researching copyright.

College Art Association (CAA) Intellectual Property Resources

This site brings together several CAA resources: US Copyright: Fundamentals & Documents; Image Sources and Rights Clearance Agencies; CAA’s Code of Best Practices in Fair Use for the Visual Arts; Other Fair Use Guidelines, Practices, and Policies; Copyright Outside the United States; Legal Assistance

Crash Course in Copyright

This frequently cited website by the University of Texas is tailored for students, faculty and anyone interested in copyright basics and provides tutorials on ownership, fair use, and permissions.

Columbia University Copyright Advisory Office

This office was established to address the relationship between copyright law and the work of the academic community. This website provides an easy-to-understand style and practical approach to the topic.

This extensive website from Stanford University includes blogs, a twitter feed, charts and tools, and links to US copyright laws and cases.

AAUP Copyright Resources

This site provides links (on the right hand side of this empty looking page) to useful copyright resources for faculty.

Association of Research Library's Copyright and Intellectual Property Policies

This site is rich with information and links for those who want to keep up-to-date with national and international copyright and intellectual property issues and laws.

10 Big Myths about Copyright Explained

E-publisher Brad Templeton provides a lively but solid explanation of “10 common copyright "myths.”

GOVERNMENT AND INTELLECTUAL PROPERTY ORGANIZATION WEBSITES

What is Copyright Protection?

This is a non-profit site that provides an overview of the Berne Convention. Although national copyright laws may vary, these laws “never contravene or provide less copyright protection than the Berne Convention.”

US Copyright Office

This government site contains general information, publications, copyright records, legislation, international laws and agreements, announcements, and resource links.

Berne Convention for the Protection of Literary and Artistic Works.

The United States has signed this international treaty.

World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO)

The WIPO is an agency of the United Nations dedicated to developing a balanced intellectual property system that encourages and rewards creativity yet protects the public interest at the same time. The United States is a member of WIPO.