Library Updates & News

Showing 9 of 9 Results

05/30/2023
profile-icon Dana Bjorklund
Cover ArtDancing after TEN by Vivian Chong; Georgia Webber
Call Number: CT 105 .C46 2020
 
After a cornea operation temporarily restored her sight, Vivian Chong raced against time to draw her graphic memoir. Sketching at a feverish pace, she recorded all the memories of her harrowing story while she could still see the page. When Chong's vision faded away completely, she enlisted another graphic memoirist, Georgia Webber, and the two women collaborated to create this poignant work of graphic medicine.
 
To see a list of books recently added to the library, click here!

This post has no comments.
Load More Comments
05/25/2023
profile-icon Laura M. Ponikvar

World War II Correspondence

Memorial Day is a United States federal holiday that honors and remembers service members who have passed away while on duty. CIA and the library will be closed for Memorial Day so that we may honor every member of the CIA community who made that sacrifice. 

Several members of our community served in World War II and the archives has a collection of correspondence from those serving as well as updates sent from the school to let them know they were missed. It is some of the most interesting content in the archives. If you would like to learn more about this collection, please make an appointment to see the WWII Correspondence collection. 

WWII letter from CIA to community members in service

This post has no comments.
Load More Comments
05/24/2023
profile-icon Starr Dobson

 

European Photography is an independent international magazine that has been highlighting contemporary photography and new media since 1980. They provide interviews with today‚Äôs most ground-breaking photographers, showcasing their work, and in-depth editorial pieces that explore the themes and motifs within such photography. Come down to the library to see the latest issue and explore the back issues we have available! 

This post has no comments.
Load More Comments
05/19/2023
profile-icon Laura M. Ponikvar

1923 Commencement Program

 

1923 commencement program

 

 

 

 

Congratulations to the Class of 2023! We are so excited about your commencement on Sunday, May 21, 2023. 

While we wait for the ceremony to begin, here is the commencement program for the Cleveland School of Art's Class of 1923 - 100 years ago!

This post has no comments.
Load More Comments
05/17/2023
profile-icon Jackie Mayse

Congratulations CIA Class of 2023. We're so proud of you!

This post has no comments.
Load More Comments
05/15/2023
profile-icon Dana Bjorklund

Cover ArtDot Line Shape

Call Number: NC 1000 .D68 2020
 
Just as words are formed by combinations of A to Z, every piece of design work begins with a fundamental element that can be enhanced or expanded into meaningfully informative and aesthetically pleasing results. Dot Line Shape is a comprehensive collection of projects that manifest the three elements in inspiring ways, whether they are used as conceptual focal points, building blocks for complex patterns, or visual expressions of infinite possibilities.
 
To see a list of books recently added to the library, click here!

This post has no comments.
Load More Comments
05/12/2023
profile-icon Laura M. Ponikvar

Flashback Friday: 1990 Traveling Scholarship Winners

 

1990 Gund Award Winners

 

 

 

 

For more than 100 years, CIA has awarded traveling scholarships to graduating seniors, enabling them to travel, research, and work on art & design projects. Currently, CIA awards six Presidential Traveling Scholarships ranging from $3,000 to $4,500. The winners are chosen from a group of 20 finalists and announced at the BFA Celebration. While we wait to hear who the winners for 2023 are, here is a photo from the archives of the winners from 1990.

 

 

 

 

 

 

(front row, left to right) Kristen Cliffel and Patricia Fields
(row 2, left to right) John Cupit, Kari Russell-Pool, Michelle Forst, and Ben Wearley
(back row, left to right) Brant Schuller and Billy Falin

This post has no comments.
Load More Comments
05/05/2023
profile-icon Laura M. Ponikvar

FIN

 

 

 

 

 

BFA Week is a special time here at CIA. The Bachelor of Fine Arts Thesis, required of every senior, is the capstone of the educational experience at the Cleveland Institute of Art. While it may be the end of their time at CIA, it's only the beginning of their life as professional artists and designers. 

Enjoy this announcement for the 2008 BFA Exhibition and be sure to visit the 2023 BFA Exhibition and wish our graduates the best for a bright future.

 

 

 

 

 

 

This post has no comments.
Load More Comments
05/04/2023
profile-icon Dana Bjorklund
Cover ArtWalt Disney's Nine More Old Men : the Flipbooks by Pete Docter There are nine flip books inside this box that pays tribute to Disney's early animators. Legendary animators Ub Iwerks, Norm Ferguson, Billl Tytla, Ham Luske, Art Babbitt, Grim Gatwick, Freddie Moore, Hal King, and John Sibley are featured in this special set. Each flipbook features a scene from an animated Disney feature in its original line-drawn form, having been selected from among a wide range of films for great movement and classic characters. In addition to the filpbooks, the box contains a booklet detailing the incredible talents that the animators contributed to The Walt Disney Animation Studios, for which they have all been named Disney Legends. With their enduring appeal, precise timing, and focused staging, it's no wonder the films created by these animation pioneers have been enjoyed by generation after generation.
Call Number: NC1766.U52 D58 2017
 
Features artwork from Ub Iwerks, Art Babbitt, Bill Tylta, John Sibley, Hal King, Grim Natwick, Norm Ferguson, Freedie Moore, and Ham Luske. These artists were the geniuses behind such classic Disney films as Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs and Pinocchio, and such iconic characters as Mickey Mouse, Donald Duck, Goofy, and Pluto. Each flipbook features a scene in its original line-drawn form, having been selected from among a wide range of shorts and feature films for their great movement and classic characters. This edition features clips from the reel of Disney animation history, including: Mickey in Plane Crazy and Make Mine Music, Donald in The Three Caballeros, and Goofy in Moving Day.
 
To see a list of books recently added to the library, click here!

This post has no comments.
Load More Comments
Field is required.