Skip to Main Content

Archives Lists: Excellence in Teaching Awards

Archives lists

CIA Excellence in Teaching Awards

(Last updated May 2024)

Educators who are considered for the Cleveland Institute of Art Excellence in Teaching Award are identified by CIA based on connections made throughout the recruitment cycle. Honorees are selected based on the outcomes of their students’ portfolios as well as their commitment to providing access and opportunities for students to show their work and consider the best art colleges in the country. Three recipients will be announced each year.


  • Sarah Curry (Charles F. Brush High School in Lyndhurst, Ohio)
  • Dayna Hansen (Lakewood High School in Lakewood, Ohio)
  • Dan Whitely (Orange High School in Pepper Pike, Ohio)


  • Michelle Kane (Mentor High School in Mentor, Ohio)
  • Nancy Rich-Drehs (Heights High School in Cleveland Heights, Ohio)
  • Amber West (Olmsted Falls High School in Olmsted Falls, Ohio)


  • Elizabeth Bortz (Cleveland School of the Arts in Cleveland, Ohio) 
  • Cynthia Greene (Cleveland School of Architecture & Design at John Hay in Cleveland, Ohio)
  • Mygenet Harris (Albert Einstein School Visual Arts Center in Kensington, Maryland)